The 2023 Pakistan Super League (also known as PSL 8 or, for sponsorship reasons, HBL PSL 2023) will be the eighth season of the Pakistan Super League, a franchise Twenty20 cricket league that was established by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in 2015. Former PCB chairman Ramiz Raja had hinted at an auction-based system to replace the draft for the 2023 version of the tournament but the draft was retained. The draft for the tournament was held on 15 December in Karachi. A total of 36 foreign players were picked alongside local players. The tournament is scheduled to take place from 13 February to 19 March 2023

psl 8

2016 Opening ceremony

The hosts of the ceremony were Yasir Hussain and Stephanie Siriwardhana, and the co-hosts were Zainab Abbas and Alan Wilkins.[4][5] It featured live performances by Pakistani singer Ali Zafar, Jamaican rapper and singer Sean Paul, Mohib Mirza, Sanam Saeed, and other artists. Chris Gayle, Daren Sammy, and Jason Holder also joined Paul during performing. Zafar performed the official anthem of the league, “Ab Khel Ke Dikha”

The ceremony ended with a firework display.

Closing ceremony

The closing ceremony was also held at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on 23 February 2016.

2017 Opening ceremony

The opening ceremony of the PSL’s second season was held on 9 February 2017 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Defending champions Islamabad United entered in shalwar kameez. Over 26,000 people attended the ceremony in the stadium. According to a source of Samaa TV, Justin Bieber was also invited but no confirmation was made.


While the PSL’s exact start dates will vary from year to year, it usually kicks off in the third week of February. The Pakistan Super League 8 for 2023 gets underway on February 13. The competition begins with the group stages.

Read more